Skip to main content

About Hickory UWCD No. 1

Rural winter scene with a windmill, trees, and a building, all covered in snow.
Photo Credit: Alesa Sargent

The District

Mailing Address: PO Box 1214, Brady, TX 76825

Physical Address: 111 East Main Street, Brady, TX 76825

Email: (To email directors, put director's name or precinct number in the subject line of the email)

Phone: 325-597-2785 (can receive both voice and text)

The District was created by an order of the Texas Water Commission on June 9, 1982, and organized under the terms and provisions of Article XVI, Section 59 of the Texas Constitution and Chapters 35 and 36 of the Texas Watder Code. We were formed to "formulate, promulgate, and enforce rules and regulations for the purpose of conserving, preserving, prevention of waste, protecting, and recharging" the waters of all aquifers within the District boundaries. In short, our mission is to protect your groundwater.

District Boundaries can be seen in greater detail here on our interactive boundary map. 

We cover approximately 1.7 million acres over an stretch that includes all of Mason County and portions of McCulloch, San Saba, Concho, Menard, and Kimble Counties. The elected board is comprised of five directors.

Map showing five different precincts with color-coded boundaries in a Texan county.

We are working on a new interactive map to meet all your needs. Please, take a few minutes and visit the site below.

This is an interactive Map App with various layers including all the wells with links to logs, faults, depth to top of Hickory, etc.

Join our mailing list